Cricket Cuppers Draw: Girton and John’s in Group of Death

27 teams will take fight it out in the 2016 competition.

2016 cricket Cricket Cuppers Cuppers Sport The Tab Cambridge

The draw for the eight groups of the Cricket Cuppers competition took place on Thursday 3rd March, with defending champions Christ’s drawn in Group 3 with Girton 2s and Trinity Hall.

Girton, Pembroke, Robinson, Jesus, St. Edmund’s, Trinity, and Fitz were also seeded for the draw by virtue of their quarter-final appearances last year. The strong sides of John’s and Corpus were left unseeded. Favourites Robinson landed themselves a benign group, with Sidney Sussex and King’s joining them in Group 5.

With 27 teams entering, two more than last year, there will be three groups of four and five groups of three. Only the top team from each group will progress to the quarter-finals. There will be no plate competition.

The full draw, shambolically completed by cricket Blue Patrick Tice, can be found below.

Group 1: Pembroke, St. Catharine’s, Queens’ and Clare.

Group 2: Jesus, Selwyn, Corpus Christi and Wolfson.

Group 3: Christ’s, Girton 2s, Trinity Hall and Homerton.

Group 4: Girton 1s, St. John’s and Downing.

Group 5: Robinson, Sidney Sussex and King’s.

Group 6: St. Edmund’s, Churchill and Peterhouse.

Group 7: Fitzwilliam, Magdalene and Clare Hall.

Group 8: Trinity, Emmanuel and Gonville & Caius.

Cricket cuppers in the past has been a big event

Cricket cuppers in the past has been a big event

The winners of each group will progress to the quarter-finals:

A: Winner Group 1 vs. Winner Group 2.

B: Winner Group 3 vs. Winner Group 4.

C: Winner Group 5 vs. Winner Group 6.

D: Winner Group 7 vs. Winner Group 8.

The semi-finals will be:

Winner QF A vs. Winner QF B.

Winner QF C vs. Winner QF D.

The Tab would like to wish all competing teams the best of luck!