Blue Boat Announced

The line-up for the 2010 Blue Boat has been announced amid predictions of a “very close” Boat Race.

blues rowing boat race cubasch McEachern pelly

The line-up for the Blue Boat has been announced.

Last year’s President Henry Pelly is expected to stroke a crew which includes three returning Blues.

Australia rower and Tab columnist Hardy Cubasch misses out as a result of the tendonitis he has suffered in his wrist since December.

The Crew is as follows:

Bow Rob Weitemeyer (St. Edmund’s – Can)

2 Fred Gill (Hughes Hall – GB)

3 Code Sternal (Hughes Hall – USA)

4 Peter McCelland (Pembroke – Can)

5 George Nash (St. Catharine’s – GB)

6 Deaglan McEachern (Hughes Hall – USA)

7 Derek Rasmussen (Hughes Hall – USA)

Stroke Henry Pelly (St. Edmund’s – GB)

Cox Ted Randolph (Peterhouse – GB)


American Code Sternal, who rowed in Goldie last year, has benefited from Cubasch’s misfortune and is the surprise name in the boat having staked his claim during the winter training camp in Spain. Sternal is said to be one of the most improved members of the squad.

President Deaglan McEachern, who has performed the best in every single 2k and 5k ergo tests this season and has managed the switch from bow side to stroke side, represents the power house of the boat.

McEachern is joined in the engine room by GB hopeful George Nash, whose promising performance in the national trials two weeks ago may win him a spot in the squad for this summer’s World Championships.

Canadian Pete McClelland, who has competed for his country at U23 level, completes the middle ‘power’ four of the boat.

Rob Weitemeyer, the squad’s most internationally decorated oarsman, sits at bow behind Fred Gill at 2 – the seat where the reserve stroke traditionally sits. Head Coach Chris Nilsson has yet to rule out Gill stroking the boat.

There is no space in the boat for Shane O’Mara whose third attempt at rowing in the Boat Race ended last month after more internal racing. O’Mara had the misfortune of having to pull out stroking the 2008 Blue Boat due to heart complications only a few days out. Unlike Cubasch who plans to race with Goldie injury permitting, O’Mara has decided not to continue with a reoccurring knee injury.

Taking his seat is second year Economist and former U23 world champion Derek Rasmussen. Although the smallest member of the squad, he has provided strong support with either Pelly or Gill in the stroke seat and provides the length and rhythm to compliment the powerful rowers behind him.

At the tradtional Weigh-In, Cambridge were very slightly the heavier crew at 760.4kgs (119 stone, 10lbs & 6ozs) with Oxford at 756.6kgs (119 stone 2 lbs).

The Oxford crew includes only one returning Blue, but boasts three Olympians including Tyler and Cameron Winklevoss, the millionaire twins from Harvard who sued the founder of Facebook for allegedly stealing their concept.

Cubasch told The Tab that the line-ups could make for one of the closest races in recent times: “Last year we were serious under dogs with Oxford boasting five Olympians and three international representatives. This year the crews look to be matched almost to a man”.

“Our boys have put in a tremendous amount of work over the last six months and have set themselves up to do something special on April 3. I would have loved to be there alongside them but know this is the best eight we can currently field and every one of them is deserved of their seat”.

Read Hardy’s latest diary entry this week for all his reaction to the crew selections and the latest on the squad’s preparations.