Results! Autumn Elections 2012

The winners and losers from the Autumn Elections 2012

The results of the UCLU Autumn Elections 2012 were released tonight in the George Farha Cafe. Approximately 30 people were there to hear  DCO Sam Gaus announced the winners and losers.

The election saw it’s 2nd highest ever turnout, with 6.3% of the student body voting (1510 people). The Hall Representative elections were poorly contested, only 39 voted in the Ifor Evans/Max Rayne contest, won by Morgan Allen.

Despite only having one candidate, the position of Hall Representative for Hawkridge House had to be decided by a coin toss between Saurabh Pingale and RON (Re-opened nomination) after no one voted in the initial ballot, including Saurabh.

This years freshers will be represented by Rohan Butt, Vicky Chan, Maxim Rozhdov, Alex Miller and Hubert Libiszewski, with Yuki Yoshimine losing out. Tom Robinson secured the position of Disabled Students’ Officer after running unopposed as did Levi Leatherberry for  Student Media Officer.

After two of the four original candidates dropped out of the race, Laura Terry and Liam Spalding competed for the position, which the former winning the race with 54 votes to 35. Ben Towse claimed the position of PGA Officer unopposed, and was also one of the six candidates who were all elected to the six NUS Conference Delegate positions.

The most hotly contested race of the night was for Student Trustee, with twelve candidates vying for six positions and eight stages of voting. The eventual winners were Joshua Scriven, Omar Khan, Zubair Idris, Luke Durigan, Daniel Carlin and Doris Chen.

New Student Trustee Daniel Carlin afterwards commented:

“Congratulations to the other victors, thank you to everyone who voted and to everyone who ran as well, as to have an effective union we need a wide range of student participation.”