Here’s what happens in each of the Bridgerton books, because you’re dying to know

Yes, one is entirely about Eloise Bridgerton

Netflix series Bridgerton has all of us hooked, wanting to find a Duke of our own and sat wondering when there will be more episodes. Since the day it was released on Netflix, the Duke and Duchess have lived rent free in my head and to be honest, I don’t think I’ve been the same since. But there’s definitely more to come if you are completely obsessed, as the show is based on the Bridgerton books by Julia Quinn – an eight-part series with each book focusing on a different sibling from the family.

Nothing has been confirmed by Netflix just yet, but the show’s creator has hinted there could be up to eight seasons of the show – each focusing on the different stories. So in the meantime, here’s what the Bridgerton books are all about.

Bridgerton, books, set, order, Julia Quinn, novels, what happens, Netflix, series, show

The Bridgerton book series, in order

So, what happens in each of the eight Bridgerton books?

The first book is titled The Duke and I, and was released in 2000. This book is about the love story of Daphne and Simon and is what season one of Bridgerton on Netflix is about.

The second in the Bridgerton books series is called The Viscount Who Loved Me. The book focuses on Daphne’s older brother, Anthony Bridgerton. Anthony has chosen a wife, but she has a medalling older sister called Kate who is desperate to stop the wedding happening. What’s more, when he closes his eyes at night, Kate’s the woman haunting his dreams.

Third in the Bridgerton series is An Offer From a Gentleman, released in 2001. It’s based on everyone’s favourite awkward and goofy brother, Benedict Bridgerton. A lady called Sophie Beckett, who has been relegated to the role of servant by her stepmother, sneaks into a Bridgerton family ball. Next thing you know she’s dancing with Benedict and loving life. He feels obliged to save her from situation like the true hero he is but is worried this may sacrifice his only chance of true love.

Bridgerton, books, set, order, Julia Quinn, novels, what happens, Netflix, series, show

via Netflix

The fourth of the novels is called Romancing Mr Bridgerton. In this book we finally get to see if anything will come of Penelope Featherington and Colin Bridgerton. It’s pretty obvious from season one on Netflix that Pen has a thing for Colin, but now after a lifetime of watching him from afar and feeling as though she knows him, she stumbles across a dark secret of his. Colin himself is fed up of being written about by Lady Whistledown and has found that Penelope is now the woman haunting his dreams. Will they or won’t they?!

Up next is To Sir Phillip With Love – the story of our favourite girl, Eloise Bridgerton. Sir Phillip proposes to her, assuming that as a spinster she is desperate for marriage. But we all know Eloise, and she is anything but. However she does come round to the idea, and before she knows it, is in a hired carriage in the middle of the night, on her way to meet the man she hoped might be her perfect match. But… he isn’t. Will he be her perfectly imperfect man?

Bridgerton, books, set, order, Julia Quinn, novels, what happens, Netflix, series, show

via Netflix

The sixth of the Bridgerton books is called When He Was Wicked and was released by Julia Quinn in 2004. This book is about younger sister, Francesca Bridgerton. Michael Stirling is London’s most infamous rake, who chases women and allows them to chase him, before taking one look at Francesca Bridgerton and falling hard. Unfortunately for him, his cousin is just about to marry her! Will he win her over?

And in the seventh book, It’s In His Kiss, we focus on Hyacinth Bridgerton. Gareth St. Clair receives an old family diary found among his late brother’s belongings, but it’s written in Italian. Gareth’s grandmother, Lady Danbury, reintroduces him to Hyacinth Bridgerton, who can translate. The rest is history.

The final book in the series is called On the Way to the Wedding and, you guessed it, it’s about Gregory Bridgerton. He believes in true love and thinks he has found the one in Miss Hermione Watson, but she is in love with someone else. Hermione’s best friend, Lady Lucinda Abernathy, wants to save Hermione from a disastrous alliance, so she offers to help Gregory win her over. But in the process, Lucy falls in love with Gregory! And what’s more, Lucy is engaged too!

Ok Netflix, we need all eight seasons ASAP ok?

Bridgerton is available on Netflix now. For all the latest Netflix news, drops, quizzes and memes like The Holy Church of Netflix on Facebook. 

Related stories recommended by this writer:

If you can’t get enough of Bridgerton, you should watch these 11 shows next

Just 29 more Bridgerton memes, this time all thirsty ones about the Duke of Hastings

• Take this quiz to find out which guy in Bridgerton would be your husband